

Serving Douglas County Since 1964

## RESOLUTION NO. 17 HONORING DR. DEBRA THATCHER, PRESIDENT UMPQUA COMMUNITY COLLEGE 2016 TO 2021

WHEREAS, Dr. Thatcher

- provided outstanding leadership during five of the most challenging years in the history of the Umpqua Community College;
- met the needs of students and the community through unprecedented, state-wide enrollment declines and the COVID-19 pandemic;
- established and implemented institutional effectiveness processes, data usage to inform decisions, inclusive resource allocation methods, and accountability measures;
- transformed shared governance to be more inclusive throughout the campus;
- led the creation, adoption, implementation, review, and update of the strategic plan;
- established a committee to lead diversity, equity, and inclusion work on campus;
- achieved full compliance with the NWCCU standards, which included implementing and sustaining program reviews;
- secured a 5-year, \$500,000 grant from Mercy Hospital to establish national accreditation for the nursing program, and oversaw the RN program as it grew from 48 to 64 students and earned the highest state review possible from the Oregon State Board of Nursing;
- oversaw the construction and naming of Tap<sup>h</sup>òyt<sup>h</sup>a' Hall and the renovation of Lockwood Hall, Jackson Hall, and CWT (i.e., former Science building);
- championed athletics by growing the number of student athletes by over 410% and securing housing for nearly 100 student athletes by renovating the Flegel Center and courting a donor to purchase the former youth shelter on Grandview Street;
- fought tirelessly to obtain adequate funding for the college from all sources; and
- leaves the college on a solid financial footing well positioned to meet the future needs of our students and community;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED:

• that the Board of Education of Umpqua Community College honors and commends President Thatcher for her commitment, leadership, and service and wishes her great success in her future endeavors.

Adopted by the Umpqua Community College Board of Education this 12th day of May 2021. ATTEST:

Steve Loosley, Chair

Erica Mills, Board Member

Guy Kennerly, Vice Chair

Randy Richardson, Board Member

David Littlejohn, Board Member

Twila McDonald, Board Member

Doris Lathrop, Board Member